Birth of Modern Freemasonry


Among the Western initiatic Traditions, Freemasonry is one of the best known. It is strange today to say that this amazing organization was founded in 1777 in an English pub, but this is true! 
Of course, it was a formalization of groups that preexisted. However, it is from this moment that the legend really begins. Simple rituals were used at this time, along with signs and secret words. Progressively a third degree was added to the two originals, then 30 degrees more, then 95 Egyptian degrees more, and so on. 

The two branches


Modern Freemasonry can be divided in two large branches.

The First Branch

The first branch of Freemasons is the largest all around the world. This is the group of Grand Lodges that are validated by the United Grand Lodge of England. They have specific requirements and landmarks that are shared by all of these Lodges and Grand Lodges. Among these rules, few have been sources of numerous conflicts along the years. They are still applied even with some minor adaptations in some countries. Among these rules the most significant are the following:
Landmark 18th: the candidate shall be man unmutilated, free born, and of mature age. That is to say, a woman, a cripple, or a slave, or one born in slavery, is disqualified for initiation into the rites of Freemasonry.
Landmark 19th: A belief in the existence of God as the Grand Architect of the Universe, is one of the most important Landmarks of the Order. It has been always deemed essential that a denial of the existence of a Supreme and Superintending Power, is an absolute disqualification for initiation.
This first branch of Freemasons calls themselves “Regular Masons” and considers the second branch as “illegal” or “clandestine.” These words mean that it is officially unlawful to meet, talk or assembly to a Mason of the second branch.

The Second Branch

The second branch of Freemasons is also present all around the world, even if the number of initiates is significantly less important than the first family. They are also organized in Grand Lodges. The requirements are sometimes different, sometimes the same than the first group. Women can be initiated in most of these organizations. This is the branch which is declared “clandestine” by the first one. 
Progressively three main orientations appeared in this second Masonic branch and they can be defined as: Conservative Freemasonry, Liberal Freemasonry, and Esoteric Freemasonry. Understanding these differences will give you a good insight on this very important part of the Masonic world. 
The Egyptian Freemasonry practiced by our Masonic Order can be placed in the third orientation “Esoteric Freemasonry.”

Esoteric Freemasonry

It is well known that every spiritual or religious tradition has two sides: exoteric and esoteric. The first, exoteric, is the visible aspect. It contains all aspects related to society and humankind. Contemporary Freemasonry is teaching morals standards through an interesting symbolic ritual. Initiations are used as rites of passage. The goal is to help us to become better, to improve our understanding of fraternity in regard to humankind. In the same time, Freemasonry is very involved in philanthropy. All these goals are noble and worth to follow! 
The second side, esoteric, is more focus on spirituality and inner development by a specific use of tools. This aspect is the main focus of our Masonic Organization.

In Europe the interest in esotericism go back to the earliest years of Freemasonry. Initiates, eager to go deeper in their understanding of the heart and origin of initiations, created several new degrees. They were used in small groups of initiates. Several aspects of the Egyptian and Greek ancient Mysteries were enacted in rituals and initiations. The names of “Memphis” and “Misraïm” became famous in this regard. 

What is less known around the world is that initiates interested by ancient Mediterranean initiations and religions, created these rituals to explore the spiritual world. Of course, we can talk about various kinds of esoteric rituals in Freemasonry. However, Egyptian rituals, which became known as “Egyptian Freemasonry” made esotericism its expertise. Among these organizations, the Sacred Order of the Sophisians has been one of the first to reenact the sacred rituals of Isis under the shape of Freemasonry.

Becoming a Freemason

If you want to begin this amazing path and become a Mason, we encourage you to join the M.W. National Grand Lodge of Egyptian Freemasons. This is the Masonic organization linked to us.

You will begin your Masonic path and after becoming a Master Mason, you will be able to join us and become a Sophisian.

You can access the M.W. National Grand Lodge of Egyptian Freemasons  by clicking the seal below.

hrit chakra website 2.png

Privacy Policy

© 2020 by Hrit Yoga

All rights reserved.